GEOTRACES Scientific Steering Committee (SSC) membership

The 2021 GEOTRACES Scientific Steering Committee (SSC) meeting was held virtually from 29th September to 1st October 2021. The release of the GEOTRACES Intermediate Data Product 2021 (released on 17 November 2021) was the major topic of discussion this year. We thank all SSC members for their generous contributions!

In order to be prepared for the next IDP, there have been several changes in the membership of the GEOTRACES Committees. Hélène Planquette (Université de Bretagne Occidentale, France) and Ana Aguilar-Islas (University of Alaska Fairbanks) have taken the responsibility of leading the Standards and Intercalibration Committee replacing Maeve Lohan (University of Southampton, UK) and Walter Geibert (Alfred Wegener Institute, Germany) in their role of co-chairs. Maite Maldonado (University of British Columbia) will work with Bill Landing (Florida State University) in co-chairing the Data Management Committee replacing Alessandro Tagliabue (University of Liverpool, UK). Thanks to Maeve, Walter and Alessandro for their amazing contributions and leadership! Also thanks to Hélène, Ana and Maite for accepting the role!

In addition, the SSC is very pleased to welcome Jessica Fitzsimmons (Texas A&M University, US), Taryn Noble (University of Tasmania, Australia), Alessandro Tagliabue and Walter Geibert as new SSC members! We thank the outgoing members Eric Achterberg (GEOMAR, Germany), Adrian Burd (University of Georgia, US), Tina van de Flierdt (Imperial College London, UK) and Zanna Chase (University of Tasmania, Australia) for their dedicated service!

This has been a very special year for GEOTRACES as a new data product has been released. Creation of the IDP2021 involved the hard work of large number of individuals and groups, as well, the willingness of more than 350 researchers to release their data. SPECIAL THANKS to ALL of them!